Day 28: The Microbiome Diet (Phase 2)

For breakfast, I had a fruit smoothie with frozen pineapple slices, 1/2 of a banana, a few grapes and some fresh lemon juice. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of wheat grass power, 1/2 cup of spinach, 1 cup of coconut water, a splash of ginger tea and a cup of ice cubes. I also had two eggs, pan fried in coconut oil. 

In today’s post, I am going to talk about ginger. Ginger is a flowering plant, widely used an a spice or medicine. Other members of the ginger family include: turmeric, cardamom and galangal. Dicots are commonly called wild ginger because they have a similar taste. Young ginger rhizomes are juicy and fleshy with a mild taste. Mature ginger rhizomes are fibrous, drier and stronger in flavor. 

Ginger can be pickled in vinegar or sherry and eaten as a snack; it can also be used as an ingredient in many dishes. One way I like to prepare ginger root is by peeling, chopping and seeping in boiling water to make tea. Ginger can also be made into candy or wine. Dry ginger can be used as a flavoring to make ginger bread, crackers, cakes, cookies, ginger ale and ginger beer. 

The ginger plant is an annual stem about a meter tall, bearing narrow green leaves and yellow flowers. Ginger is indigenous to south China, but has spread to the Spice Islands of Asia and South Africa. Historically speaking, ginger was used extensively by the Romans after being exported by Europe via India in the first century AD. 

In limited studies, ginger was found more effective than the placebo for treating sea sickness, nausea, morning sickness and chemotherapy. I also find it helpful in fighting a cold or settling my stomach when feeling anxious. I was first told about ginger tea because I was having stomach an upset stomach. I also heard ginger tea is good for cramping, during menstration. This makes sense because ginger is a natural anti-inflammatory and antiseptic.There are also suggestions that show ginger to have affects on those who are suffer from blood clotting and heart rhythms. 

According to my research, ginger was also classified as a stimulant and carminative and used frequently for dyspepsia, gastroparesis, slow motility symptoms, constipation, and colic. Although, generally recognized as a safe ingredient by the FDA, if one consumes too much ginger in the powder form, they may experience heartburn, belching, gas, nauseated bloating. If  ginger is eaten fresh and not chewed properly it can also cause an  intestinal blockage. Overall, the affects of ginger are benifical but when consumed dry or unchewed there can be adverse effects, which is why I like consuming it in the liquid, tea form. 

To continue with my food logs, my morning snack included a few mixed berries and honeydew. I also had some homemade granola with goats milk. For lunch, I had leftover homemade soup. The ingredients for the soup are posted on day 26’s publishing. For my afternoon snack, I had a corn tortilla that I made out of chips, by baking in the oven with coconut oil. With the chips, I had leftover homemade kiwi orange salsa I made a few days ago. Dinner consisted of an asparagus recipe from the Microbiome Diet book and an Italian sausage with regular mustard. The recipe for the asparagus consisted of 2 lbs of asparagus, 3 tablespoons EVOO, kosher salt, lemon juice, lemon slices and baked in the oven at 400 degrees faharenheit for 10 minutes.   

Leave a comment