Day 26: The Microbiome Diet (Phase 2)

 For breakfast, I had homemade granola and goats milk. I also had two coconut oil, pan fried eggs. For my morning snack, I had a fruit smoothie. I pre-prepped and froze fruit in a ziploc bag with: puréed persimmon, grapes and pineapple. I also added fresh spinach, wheat grass powder, unsweetened apple cider and coconut water. For lunch, I had a salad with ground beef, sautéed in fresh onions, cayenne powder, onion powder, garlic powder and sea salt. My lettuce included cabbage, spinach and leafy greens. I added raw, red onions, sliced black olives, a hass avocado and kefir cheese. 

Dinner included homemade soup, which consisted of sautéeing onion, garlic, celery and a 1/2 of a pasilla pepper in EVOO. I added beef bones, water, chicken broth, lentils, barley, carrots, Swiss chard, squash, jalapeño pepper, anise pollen, bay leaf, basil, salt and ground pepper to the soup pot and simmered for an hour. When served, I added grated Pecarino Romano to the soup. 

After dinner, I made chamomile tea with dried chamomile flowers. I wrapped the flowers in cheese cloth and tied the top with a string. I tied the cheese cloth in a little bundle to make sure the flowers wouldn’t get get all over the pot of water, boiled the water and seeped the tea for about 30 minutes. 

Chamomile is a general name for several daisy like plants that are commonly used as an herb. According to Wikipedia, in 2009, researchers at the University of Pennsylvania concluded the first controlled clinical trial of chamomile extract for generalized anxiety disorder (GAD). Chamomile tea has been used as a medicine for thousands of years to calm anxiety and settle the stomach. 

A more common use for drinking chamomile tea is that it can be used to treat insomnia. Other compounds in chamomile include: sesquiterpenes, terpenoids, flavonoids, coumarins, phenylpropanoids, flavones, flavanols and polyacetylenes. Apigenin has demonstrated chemopreventive effects against cancer cells. Alpha-bisabolol has been shown to have antiseptic properties, anti-inflammatory properties, and reduces pepsin secretion without altering secretion of stomach acid. Yes, that was a mouthful but basically all of those compounds are benifical to treating hay fever, inflammation, muscle spasms, menstral disorders, insomnia, ulcers, gastro intestinal disorde, hemorrhoids due to the compounds listed above. 

The only downfall is that those who are allergic to ragweed, may also see adverse reactions to chamomile, due to cross reactivity.

Leave a comment